Farmer Profile for Daniel DeCamillo

Co-Applicant / Partner Name:

Kelly Dunbar

Experience

Please describe your past and/or present farming experience:

My partner Kelly and I have a diverse background in education and farming. We worked in New Haven, CT for several years as Teacher Naturalists both on the farm and in the forest. We both wore several different hats and took on a number of roles and responsibilities throughout the years, including animal care, site maintenance, school yard habitat program, field trips, homeschool classes, camp outs, birthday parties, gardening, maple sugaring, forest school, and summer camp. I was also the Assistant Director of the summer camp for one summer. In 2019, we decided to set off on our own educational and experiential adventure into farming. We completed a MOFGA apprenticeship on a 1,600 acre bicentennial organic saltwater family farm in Edmunds, ME. There we gained tremendous experience in the daily chores for dairy cows, pigs, poultry, and market gardens. We also worked weekly farmers markets, participated in the weekly poultry processing of 300-600 birds, and processed dairy into value added products. We then spent the next year living and working with a small team of farmers and chefs on a 200 acre regenerative farm in Bristol, ME, raising pigs, poultry, and sheep. Here, Kelly took on a lead role managing the on-farm market, weekly farm meal program, cold-pack shipments and deliveries, and a small weekly batch of yogurt for the market. I gained more experience using power tools and farm equipment, as well as operating and maintaining tractors, skid steers, and excavators, livestock trailer and refrigerated van to complete the abundance and variety of tasks on and off the farm. We also spent a summer working with a migratory beekeeper, maintaining 3000+ beehives in very rural areas of northern Maine. Work involved the set-up of bee yards, adding supers to hives, mite treatments, honey collection, using flatbeds and swingers to move the bees, and navigating the logging roads. We currently live in Nashville, TN. Kelly currently works from home as a veterinary care coordinator, and I am a farmer / educator at a small farm school that is home to 32 goats, 75 chickens and a 1 acre garden. Along with my roles and responsibilities as an educator, I am heavily focused on the care and health of the animals as well as the maintenance and development of the farm, infrastructure, educational spaces, and the property in general.

Are you currently farming?:

Yes

Are you interested in connecting with other farmers to explore collocation or collaborative farm ideas?:

No

Enterprises

What is the primary agricultural enterprise you are considering?:

Poultry

What other enterprises are you considering?:

Berries
Flowers
Goats
Poultry
Vegetables

The Land

Total Acres Desired:

5.0

Organic:

Yes

Infrastructure

Farm Structures Needed:

Barn(s)
Storage

Farmhouse Needed:

Yes

Tenure Arrangement

Tenure Arrangement Considered:

Apprentice with a Farm Owner for a Year or More
Farm Manager
Lease with Option to Buy
Work to Own (Gradual Transfer of Responsibility & Farm Assets)

Business Plan/Goals

Do you have a business plan? Please write an informative description of your vision & goals for your farming future.:

We have many hopes and dreams involving our future in farming, but do not have a business plan at this time. We are very flexible and open to different opportunities, and hope to find an opportunity that lines up with our needs and timeline. We would like to find a farming opportunity with housing available Feb 2022.