Farmer Profile for Zach Laughlin


Please describe your past and/or present farming experience:

Been working for a Soil and Water department for the past 2.5 years in Wisconsin dealing with no-till, cover crops, and low disturbance manure application. I also do our social media. In my free time, I have grown large gardens. This past year I grew popcorn, as well as some vegetables. I am very interested in wide row corn & the opportunity space in between the rows. I had success last year growing 60" twin row popcorn with 49 day bush beans in between. I can run large equipment. I helped out on a large dairy farm for two years during fall harvest here in Wisconsin. Back in Ohio, I worked on a grain farm for a growing season and helped bale hay for multiple years. My family lives in Stark County, Ohio.

Are you currently farming?:


Are you interested in connecting with other farmers to explore collocation or collaborative farm ideas?:



What is the primary agricultural enterprise you are considering?:


What other enterprises are you considering?:

Row Crops

The Land

Total Acres Desired:





Farmhouse Needed:

Doesn't matter

Tenure Arrangement

Tenure Arrangement Considered:

Apprentice with a Farm Owner for a Year or More
Lease with Option to Buy
Long-Term Lease
Short-Term Lease
Work to Own (Gradual Transfer of Responsibility & Farm Assets)

Business Plan/Goals

Do you have a business plan? Please write an informative description of your vision & goals for your farming future.:

I sold at the local farmers market this past growing season & did direct popcorn sales to family members and social media followers.